End of the Year Recognition Luncheon

THURSDAY, APRIL 25, 2024, 11:45 AM – 1:45 PM Department of mathematical sciences Faculty & graduate student lounge

Opening Remarks

Presented by Dr. Michael Goldberg, Department Head

2024 Calculus Contest

Presented by Dr. Steve Pelikan, Committee Chair

Calculus II Contest Winners:	Professor:
Phuc Mai	Dr. Xiaoqin Guo
Mateo Martinez	Dr. David Freeman
Christ-Ivann Degni	Dr. Vita Borovyk

Monetary prizes donated by Cengage Publishing

Calculus Contest Committee:

Dr. Steve Pelikan, Chair Dr. Ryan Gibara Dr. Dan Ralescu Dr. Inne Singgih Dr. Taige Wang

2023–2024 UNDERGRADUATE AWARDS

Presented by Dr. Abigail Bishop Undergraduate Program Director

Deddens & Minda Undergraduate Scholarships:

Nina Bachárová Delaney Evans Audrey Hains Ria Menon Nicholas Wesseler

Natalie Feld Scholarship:

Leah Colston Sara Shinde Linh Tran Changfeng Zhou

Jeanne Gulden Scholarship:

Marek Brodke Michael Shobe Brooklynn Hollis

Harry S. Kieval Scholarships:

Tamara El-Khatib Nathan Storts

Collin Hurley Alice Yu

Charles N. Moore Memorial Scholarship:

Mia Burdick Taylor Daugherty

Actuarial Program Award (number of exams passed):

Jessica Simcox (2) Mackenzie Curry (2) TJ Miller (2)

Phi Beta Kappa: Mackenzie Curry Grayson Light

2023–2024 GRADUATE AWARDS

Presented by Dr. Robert Buckingham Graduate Program Director

	•
Graduate Assistant:	Selena Laikos
First Year Doctoral	
Student	Ethan Davis
(Mathematics):	
First Year Doctoral	Lloyd Coldatain
Student (Statistics):	Lloyd Goldstein
Finishing Master's	Saani Rawat
Student:	Saani Rawal

Maita Levine Awards for Outstanding:

Charles Phelps Taft Competitive Dissertation Fellowship (2024-2025): Lora Newman Charles Phelps Taft Dissertation Fellowship (2024-2025): Sasanka Wijesiri Henry Laws Fellowship (Fall 2024): Jaime Garza Taft Summer Research Fellowship (Summer 2024): Junghyun Lee Research Publication Award: Joshua Kline Comer-Reynolds Award (ASA): Jiarong Ouyang

2023–2024 GRADUATES

Master of Science in Mathematical Sciences:

Kyei Afari	Sidy Ba
Ben Barr	Addie Ewalt
Adama Gaye	Kennedy
	Gmateyendo
William Gondwe	Abigail Grace
Dilani Jayaweera	Anton Manak
Mary Mkandawire	Jennifer
	Niemantsverdriet
Dennis	Saani Rawat
Quayesam	

Master of Science in Statistics:

Mary Clarke Ting-Wei Yan

Matthew Satter

lanta Dos Santos

Joy Vu

Master of Arts for Teachers of Mathematics:Caitlin CarlsenAaron McAlpine

Doctor of Philosophy in Mathematics: Kevin Schmitt Hyogo Shibahara

Doctor of Philosophy in Statistics: Xin Wu

IN MEMORIAM: DR. GARY WEISS Presented by Dr. Michael Goldberg, Department Head